Psalms, Hymns, and What?

Here is some ideas I had as I go through the Integrity Worship Institute.  For for information IWI click on the picture.

In our worship services all across America we constantly hear the phrase “Psalms, Hymns, and Spiritual Songs”.  While this is used many times, I wonder if we truly understand the idea behind it.  Ephesians 5:19 says we are to “Speak to one another with psalms, hymns and spiritual songs.”  The other part of that verse that we rarely quote is to “Sing and make music in your heart to the Lord,”

This verse is showing us that music, while not all of what worship should be, is a large part of HOW we worship.  In our churches today there are instances of people and their preferences.  While I understand that we all have our likes and dislikes, I do not believe that any one style of music is more pleasing to God than another.  God is not worried about style as much as He is worried about the heart of the person worshiping.

Many contemporary churches focus on singing “choruses”, while more traditional churches focus on hymns, and even a few churches have experience in singing “spiritual songs”.  The problem with all this is that God’s word invites us to express our worship through all 3 forms of singing.

I have learned in my ministry that I cannot worship based on style.  I worship based on what God wants to hear.  Now it is my job to meet to the needs of my congregation but is also my job to guide them and show them there is more than just one style in which God wants to hear.  Worship is our way to tell God thank you and to show Him the greatness He deserves.

Your thoughts heard here!

